Training Requirements

When creating and maintaining an employee training program, it’s essential to consider which training is required by federal regulations or state laws. We’ve assembled these helpful charts to help guide you through some of the most common training requirements under federal law.

J. J. Keller® Training offers a robust library of training content to help you meet these and other regulatory requirements in workplace safety, transportation, human resources, and other areas. Whether you use our online E-Learning courses, streaming training videos, or both, you’ll know exactly how to maintain compliance with the regulations that apply to you.

HR Sexual Harassment Training Requirements

In HR, training is typically part of a good faith effort defense as opposed to a requirement under federal law.

Often, the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) will check for evidence of training first when a complaint is filed. Thus, any complaints that fall under the EEOC’s charge, such as any form of discrimination (age, disability, race, gender, etc.), would be essential topics for training and policy development.

While sexual harassment training isn’t required at the federal level yet, several states have laws on the books. The chart below is a summary of state-specific sexual harassment HR training requirements and is not intended to be all-inclusive.
 

For J. J. Keller’s sexual harassment training, click here.

 

State Covered Employees Length Frequency
California Those with 5 or more employees (this count includes temporary, seasonal, migrant, or agricultural workers as well as non-California-based employees, independent contractors, volunteers, or unpaid interns).
Note: An employer is required to train its California-based employees so long as it employs 5 or more employees anywhere, even if they do not work at the same location and even if not all of them work or reside in California.
1 hour for employees
2 hours for supervisors
Every 2 years
Connecticut All employers must train supervisors; those with 3 or more employees must train all employees and supervisors. 2 hours Every 10 years
Delaware Those with 50 or more employees working in Delaware (including seasonal and temporary employees). Not specified Every 2 years
Illinois All employers. Not specified Annually
Maine Those with 15 or more employees. Not specified Every 2 years
New York All employers. Not specified Annually
This chart is a summary of state-specific sexual harassment HR training requirements and is not intended to be all-inclusive.